Being Thankful …

me16bAs I prepare my “amazing turkey” this year, I find myself struggling with just how different my life has become compared to the plans and goals that I thought had been set.  While things have gotten better, I wouldn’t be truthful if I were to say that the consequences of those events no longer affect me.  Instead, I have accepted the fact that I will continue to deal with those emotions – which I believe are the result of the level of love and admiration that I will always maintain.

However, my focus with this article is being thankful.  Since I very much enjoy lists, I thought I would provide a bullet-list of the items in which I am thankful for this year:

  • My amazing son.  I can’t express how much Eric has blessed me by being introduced into my life when I held him in my arms for the first time 5,006 days ago.  It is hard to believe he is 14 years old now.  He is simply amazing and has inspired me more than I ever would have imagined.
  • Family.  When my new reality unfolded earlier this year, it was my family who stood by my side and helped me when I needed them the most.  You certainly don’t get to pick your family, but I honestly feel like I hit the jackpot with them.
  • Friends. A pure extension of my family is my network of friends who have been at my side.  When my best friend slipped away, I saw current friends, new friends and friends I had lost touch with over the years reach out to help bridge that gap.  They listened and have endured the challenges with me and I will always be forever grateful.
  • Those who protect our freedom.  I must thank everyone who has given their careers and even their lives protecting the freedom that exists in our country. Without them, it is likely I wouldn’t be able to perform the simple task of maintaining this blog.
  • My health.  I am certainly thankful to maintain a very good bill of health.  You are only as old as you feel, which still keeps me feeling like I am in my 30’s … if not younger.  (grin)
  • A wonderful career.  I could not ask for a better career, especially working at E-gineering.  They have been a tremendous blessing on so many levels – far above a simple job and corresponding paycheck.  Honestly, the group at E-gineering are a subset of my friends and family – for the same reasons noted above.
  • My God-given gifts.  I am modestly thankful for the ability to perform music, which has led to some memorable moments and individuals being lead to Christ.  I am also thankful for the ability to capture my thoughts and emotions on this blog, as it has been quite a therapeutic medium.
  • Mags.  I am very thankful for my Golden Retriever, who has always been the definition of unconditional love.  I know it may sound crazy to some, but I really think she understands at times – especially when she will do something to make me laugh, just when I needed to laugh more than anything else.
  • God.  Last, but not least, I am endlessly thankful for our God.  He has been on the receiving end of each and every prayer I have spoken, which has been quite a bit in 2013. He has directed me to the right scripture when I needed inspiration.  He has given me peace and helped calm me down when I needed it the most.

At the top of this article, I indicated that my life is different from the plans and goals that had been set.  While I will tell you that I believe those plans and goals were set with God in mind, I am certain God either has another set of plans and goals for me, or He is not ready for those plans and goals to be put into place at this point in my life.  I am thankful for God and will continue to put my trust in Him.  In the meantime, I promise to not lose sight of all the wonderful things in which I am truly thankful for this season!

“give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NIV)

Happy Thanksgiving to each and every one of you!  Have a really great day!!!

About johnjvester

Information Technology professional with 20+ years expertise in application development, project management, system administration and team supervision.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Power of God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Thankful …

  1. Michelle LaDuke says:

    Awesome article!! Very insightful!! I thought about you today. Hope the day wasn’t too difficult, you 30-year-old kid!!

Leave a Reply

